A Gorkha weblog which intends to keeps you updated about everything and bring together all Gorkhali community

Madhesi parties to remain in govt

Posted by Ramesh Khati on September 7, 2009

KATHMANDU, Sept 6(MYREPUBLICA): Three ruling Madhesi parties — Madhesi People´s Rights Forum (Democratic), Tarai-Madhes Democratic Party and Sadbhavana Party — have decided not to pull out from the coalition government and continue fighting for the cause of Madhes by remaining in the government.

A meeting of the top leaders of the three parties held at the MPRF-D headquarters in Sanepa on Sunday made the decision, allaying speculations that Madhesi parties would eventually pull out from the Madhav Kumar Nepal-led government over vice president´s oath row.

“We have agreed in principle not to pull out from the government over Vice President Parmananda Jha´s oath row,” said a senior Madhesi leader present at the meeting. “There is no danger to the Madhav Kumar Nepal-led government at least for now.”

The meeting of the three ruling parties came in the wake of seven MPRF-D lawmakers urging Madhesi parties on Saturday to pull out from the ´anti-Madhes´ government as the government stripped state privileges of Jha for his refusal to take oath in Nepali.

The meeting concluded that the call by MRRF-D lawmakers to withdraw support from the government was an outcome of dissatisfaction within the party. “The party [MPRF-D] will take initiatives to address their grievances and settle the issue,” said the top leader.

The meeting has decided to ask the UCPN (Maoist) to lift House obstruction to find peaceful outlet for the ongoing oath row through an amendment to the interim constitution. An amendment bill to allow oath-taking in mother tongue has already been registered in parliament.

Talking to myrepublica.com, SP Chairman Rajendra Mahato said the meeting also dwelt on issues related to Indian priests´ appointment row at Pashupatinath Temple, implementation of eight-point agreement reached between United Democratic Madhesi Front (UDMF) and the government in the past and about Inclusive Bill that is already registered in the Legislature Parliament for approval.

However, the meeting could not hold detailed discussion on the issues as the meeting started later than the scheduled time of 5 pm. “We have decided to hold further discussion during Monday´s meeting and reach a decision,” said Mahato, who also heads the Ministry of Supplies.

TMDP Joint General Secretary Jitendra Sonar said the next meeting will be held at 11 am Monday at Singha Durbar.

Meanwhile, Pramod Kumar Gupta of MPRF-D, who on Saturday had urged lawmakers to resign from the government, said that the number of party lawmakers supporting their cause reached eight with one more lawmaker, Laxman Kumar Mehta, joining the group.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: