A Gorkha weblog which intends to keeps you updated about everything and bring together all Gorkhali community

Assam beat Bengal to lead East Zone standings

Posted by Ramesh Khati on October 22, 2009

Dhanbad, Oct 21 (PTI) Bengal began their season with a 35-run loss to Assam who registered their second consecutive win in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 (East Zone) Trophy at Railway Stadium here today.

Opting to bat, Assam got an electrifying start thanks to a scintillating 44-ball 74 from Parvez Aziz. The left-handed opener pulverised the Bengal bowling, smashing six sixes and six boundaries.

Bengal offspinner Saurashish Lahiri bagged three for 20 to keep Assam for 157 for five in the stipulated 20 overs.

Chasing 158, Bengal openers Wriddhiman Saha and Deep Dasgupta gave a good start but former India legspinner Sairaj Bahutule broke the 53-run partnership taking the the scalp of Saha (40) in 5.3 overs.

Later, Dhiraj Goswami and Sarupam Purkayastha claimed three and two wickets respectively to wrap Bengal’s innings for 122 in 17.4 overs.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: